Mary DeVries
Jun 26, 2021

--

Great article. I think the only answer is cold hard numbers. This is the cost of state college. This is how much you can take out in government loans. This is how much you can earn at minimum wage. Now tell me again how easy it is to work your way through without parental help. Now graduate, get a basic job and try to afford a house. Write down real numbers. It’s they only wait I’ve found to convince people.

Most people won’t sit still for the pen and paper calculations though. “It worked in my day” or “My kid ( whose college was completely paid for and is still on my Netflix, phone plan, and health insurance) did it by hard work so yours can to”

Thanks for sharing.

--

--

Mary DeVries

The older I get, the less I know. That won’t stop me from writing about everything and anything under the sun. Join me in delighting and despairing about life.